Preparation Spotlight: Craig Atkin

With under a month remaining until departure from Bootham Crescent, we caught up with Craig Atkin to see how his preparation for his second Ride To Northampton is going. As Craig is the resident route planner and hotel booker, we hoped to hear that at least those aspects were confirmed…

How is the preparation going for this year’s ride?

Well, I have bought a new bike and all the kit I need, so that’s a start!
Last year I only completed one 30 mile practice ride, but I’d completed the Yorkshire marathon in October and was in pretty good shape (for me anyway).  This time I’ve done a lot less, but completed a half marathon in October.  I rather “over indulged” through the Christmas break though, and I’m about a stone heavier than this time last year.

IMG_6161

We all thought Corker’s helmet couldn’t get any better than last year!

Six of us went out this weekend, getting the train to Darlington before cycling the 60 odd miles back to York.  We all did it without too much hassle (no more than expected anyway).  One of the new lads, Ryan, had an issue with a snapped chain that was replaced at Thirsk and then fixed again at Easingwold, but other than that it was drama free.  It served to prove that we should all be ok for Day 1.

IMG_6162

Seemingly happy riders during Saturday’s training route between Darlington and York – this may be due to the Greggs though!

The other prep done is to complete all the logistical bits; hotel bookings and to finalise the route.  We all learnt a fair bit last year and that has led to some revision to the route we will take. Day 1 is a slightly shorter but busier route, with a big climb at the end whilst also avoiding a canal path that cost us about an hour last year.

How are you feeling with less than a month to go?

Not too bad, but not as good as last year in terms of confidence in my physical ability.  I had no idea how I’d fare a year ago as I’d not done much cycling for a couple of years (I used to do lots) and I didn’t know any of the others taking part further than a passing courtesy before, during or following another YCFC defeat.

It turned out I was fine, and a cycling trio of myself, Ben Nicholson and Nath Brigham headed the group each day and really enjoyed it.  Having gone out this weekend I’m safe in the knowledge I can at least still match Nath, and his brother Ryan whilst Ash Taylor also cycled very well at a similar pace so I’m feeling ok.  I do need to keep up with the training though!

Any regrets about agreeing to participate again?
Not yet!  I do wonder whether it’ll be as good as last year.  Being an unknown to us all I think we were pleasantly surprised at how we all performed throughout the three days, and we had a bloody good laugh too.  In some sense it does seem a bit like going back to a great ex after a year, and whilst walking to her house to meet her worrying she’s got a bit fat and boring!  Although I’m sure it’ll be fine, she may even have got better with time!

What plans do you have for the final few weeks before departure?
I plan on a ride between 50 and 70 miles on the next two weekends, and then a 40 miler on the weekend prior to the event. Given the extra timber I’ve started to eat healthily and cut out the beer (not completely) too.

The week leading up to the ride will consist mainly of loads of chicken and pasta, getting the bike serviced and then doing my bit as route planner by printing off all the packs, hotel confirmations and such like.  And REST.  People seem to remember to train and try to get fitter, but recovery and being fully rested the 48 hours before you set off is very important too.

Probably most importantly of all though is hoping on the weather.  We were lucky last year in that it rained for about 40 minutes on the first morning, and after that it was dry with some clear skies thrown in for good measure.  Rain or wind would make things more difficult, and if it snows in the days leading up to the ride then I’m not sure we’d even be able to do it! Fingers crossed.

Thanks to Craig for his time.
The fundraising pot has crept up over £1300 so far with raffle tickets starting to sell pretty well. If you’re interested in purchasing raffle tickets then get in contact through twitter @ycfc_2_ntfc

Leave a comment